Sungrow SBR096 — 9.6 kWh High-Voltage LiFePO4 Battery, 192 V, 100% DoD

⚡ Quick answer

What is the SBR096?

  • Usable energy: 9.6 kWh (tested at 25 degrees Celsius, 100% DoD, 0.2C charge and discharge)
  • Construction: 3 modules of 3.2 kWh each, 33 kg per module, prismatic LiFePO4 cells
  • Electrical: 192 V nominal, 162 V - 219 V operating range, 30 A maximum continuous charge and discharge current
  • Expandable: 2 to 8 modules per stack covering 6.4-25.6 kWh (SBR064 through SBR256), modules can be added later
  • Enclosure: IP55, floor-standing, indoor or outdoor, 114 kg total, 625 x 545 x 330 mm

The Sungrow SBR096 is a high-voltage lithium iron phosphate (LiFePO4) home battery offering 9.6 kWh of usable energy from three 3.2 kWh modules, floor-mounted either indoors or outdoors. The single most common mistake buyers make is assuming the kWh printed on the box is the kWh they actually get to use — this page explains what the SBR096 figures really mean, and what the datasheet does not tell you but you should ask before paying. Pearl Solar Energy designs storage systems for homes and villas across Phuket, Phang Nga and Krabi. If you are still weighing whether storage is worth it, start with our calculator, then browse the rest of our equipment.

What is the Sungrow SBR096, and how much of that 9.6 kWh can you actually use?

The SBR096 is a floor-standing high-voltage battery built from prismatic LiFePO4 cells — the chemistry that has become the default for home storage in hot climates because of its thermal stability. The 096 in the model code refers to its 9.6 kWh, formed by stacking three 3.2 kWh modules. What makes this unit easier to evaluate than many competitors is that Sungrow publishes the 9.6 kWh figure as usable energy rather than nominal capacity, and specifies a configurable depth of discharge up to 100%. In other words, the number on the label is the number you get, with no hidden reserve to subtract — which matters enormously when you are comparing quotes between brands. Electrically it is a high-voltage system: 192 V nominal with a 162 V to 219 V operating window and 30 A maximum continuous charge and discharge current, so it must be paired with a hybrid inverter that accepts that voltage range, not the 48 V architecture found in budget systems. One safety figure worth understanding is the 3500 A short-circuit current, which is exactly why DC-side protection must be correctly rated and terminated to specification — this is not work for a general electrician. Storage should be designed together with the inverter and the PEA permit application from the start, not bolted on afterwards.

Highlights from the datasheet

  • Configurable depth of discharge up to 100%: The 9.6 kWh figure is already the usable number, so it compares directly against other brands without deducting a reserve. In practice we usually leave a small margin configured to extend cell life.
  • Prismatic LiFePO4 cells: Lithium iron phosphate is the standard choice for residential storage in tropical conditions thanks to its higher thermal stability compared with some other lithium chemistries.
  • Expandable from 2 to 8 modules, 6.4-25.6 kWh: Start at 9.6 kWh now and add modules later as consumption grows, without replacing the inverter or rebuilding the installation. The family spans SBR064 through SBR256.
  • 192 V high-voltage architecture, 162 V - 219 V window: Higher voltage means lower current for the same power, so cable losses are reduced and conductor sizing is more manageable than in a 48 V system.
  • IP55, indoor or outdoor, floor-standing: Flexible siting with no need for a load-bearing wall, but it does need a solid level base — the complete unit weighs 114 kg.
  • Separate charge and discharge temperature ranges: Charging is rated 0 to 50 degrees Celsius, discharging -20 to 50 degrees Celsius, with natural cooling — so ventilation and shade at the mounting position genuinely matter.
  • Comprehensive certification: CE, CEC, IEC 62619, IEC 62040, UN38.3, VDE 2510-50, IEC 62477, IEC 63056, IEC 61000 and UKCA, with CAN communication plus onboard SOC and status indicators.

Key specifications (SBR096)

Specification Datasheet value
Energy (useable)9.6 kWh (ทดสอบที่ 25 องศาเซลเซียส, 100% DOD, ชาร์จ/ดิสชาร์จ 0.2C)
Battery module configuration3 โมดูล โมดูลละ 3.2 kWh น้ำหนักโมดูลละ 33 kg
Battery typeLiFePO4 Prismatic Cell (ลิเธียมไอออนฟอสเฟตแบบปริซึม)
Nominal voltage192 V
Operating voltage162 V - 219 V
Max. continuous charging/discharging current30 A
Depth of discharge (DoD)สูงสุด 100% DOD (ตั้งค่าได้)
Short circuit current3500 A
Expandable capacity rangeขยายได้ 2-8 โมดูลต่อชุด ครอบคลุม 6.4-25.6 kWh (SBR064 ถึง SBR256)
Dimensions (W*H*D)625 mm x 545 mm x 330 mm
Weight114 kg
Degree of protection / installation locationIP55 ติดตั้งได้ทั้งในและนอกอาคาร แบบตั้งพื้น (floor stand)
Operating ambient temperature rangeขณะชาร์จ 0 ถึง 50 องศาเซลเซียส, ขณะดิสชาร์จ -20 ถึง 50 องศาเซลเซียส (ระบายความร้อนแบบธรรมชาติ)
Communication interfaceCAN (มีไฟแสดง SOC และสถานะ)
CertificatesCE, CEC, IEC 62619, IEC 62040, UN38.3, VDE 2510-50, IEC 62477, IEC 63056, IEC 61000, UKCA
Compatible invertersตามหน้าสินค้าทางการ Sungrow: SH5/6/8/10/12T (3 เฟส 5-12 kW), SH15/20/25T (3 เฟส 15-25 kW), SH8.0/10RS (1 เฟส 8-10 kW) — ส่วน footnote ใน datasheet อ้างถึงซีรีส์ SHRT ด้วย ต้องยืนยันกับผู้ผลิตก่อน

Note: every figure above comes straight from the Sungrow Power Supply Co., Ltd. (阳光电源股份有限公司) datasheet. Actual system design (strings per MPPT, cable sizing, breakers) must be calculated for each site.

Why this model suits Phuket

  • Monsoon-season outages: 9.6 kWh of usable storage is enough to carry a household's essential loads — refrigeration, lighting, internet and some air conditioning — through the hours the grid is down.
  • Heat is the enemy of batteries: Charging is rated up to 50 degrees Celsius, but the unit cools naturally, so we never site it in a sealed west-facing room that bakes all afternoon. Ventilation and shade come first.
  • IP55 allows outdoor siting: Useful in villas where indoor space is tight, but it should still sit under an eave or cover, out of direct sun and driving rain, and away from salt spray. See our notes on coastal installation work.
  • Future expansion is realistic here: Phuket villas frequently add rooms, add air conditioning, or switch to short-term rental. Growing from 9.6 kWh toward 25.6 kWh without replacing the system is a genuine advantage.

Who it suits

  • Homes and pool villas that already have solar: Owners who want to shift surplus midday generation into the evening instead of exporting or wasting it.
  • Properties with frequent outages: Households needing real backup capacity for essential loads, not just a few emergency lights.
  • Owners who want to start small: Begin at 9.6 kWh and expand toward 25.6 kWh later, so the final capacity decision does not have to be made on day one.
  • Rental villas and small guesthouses: Where guest experience is the product and a single outage lands in a review.
  • Not yet the right fit for: Buyers who need documented cycle life and written warranty terms before committing, since the official datasheet states neither — request those documents from the distributor first. See solar cost in Phuket for budgeting context.

Summary

The Sungrow SBR096 delivers 9.6 kWh of usable energy from three modules on a 192 V high-voltage architecture, supports up to 100% depth of discharge, and expands toward 25.6 kWh later — a combination that fits Phuket homes and villas well. We will also tell you plainly what the datasheet omits: it does not state cycle life, warranty terms, or a maximum power output in kilowatts, so we will not invent those figures. Instead we request the Thailand or APAC warranty document and written confirmation of inverter compatibility from the manufacturer before finalising any package. If you would like us to work out how many kWh your household actually needs, see our services or contact us.

See other models from this brand on the Sungrow overview, or browse all the equipment we install.

Download the datasheet (PDF) — full manufacturer specification sheet

Frequently asked questions

What are the main Sungrow SBR096 specifications?

Usable energy is 9.6 kWh, tested at 25 degrees Celsius at 100% depth of discharge with a 0.2C charge and discharge rate. The unit is built from three modules of 3.2 kWh each, 33 kg per module, 114 kg complete, using prismatic LiFePO4 cells. Nominal voltage is 192 V with a 162 V to 219 V operating window, and maximum continuous charge and discharge current is 30 A. Short-circuit current is rated at 3500 A. The enclosure is IP55, floor-standing, suitable for indoor or outdoor installation, measuring 625 x 545 x 330 mm with natural cooling. Charging is rated 0 to 50 degrees Celsius and discharging -20 to 50 degrees Celsius. Communication is via CAN, with SOC and status indicators on the unit.

How much of the SBR096's 9.6 kWh is actually usable?

All of it. Sungrow publishes the 9.6 kWh figure specifically as usable energy rather than nominal or total capacity, and the specification supports a configurable depth of discharge up to 100%. That distinction is important when comparing quotes, because many batteries are advertised at their total capacity, and once the protected reserve is deducted the genuinely usable figure is noticeably smaller than the headline. Always compare storage on usable kilowatt-hours, not on the number in the model name. In practice we usually configure a modest margin so the pack is not routinely emptied completely, which is generally kinder to cell life over many years of daily cycling.

Can the SBR096 be expanded later?

Yes, and this is one of the range's strongest points. The system supports 2 to 8 modules per stack, covering 6.4 kWh through 25.6 kWh — the model codes running from SBR064 to SBR256. The SBR096 configuration is simply three 3.2 kWh modules. So if the budget is tight today, or if you are not yet certain how much energy your household consumes overnight, you can begin at 9.6 kWh and add modules later without replacing the inverter or rebuilding the installation. Our advice is to allow for the eventual footprint and to size cabling and protection devices for the future capacity during the first installation, so expanding later stays straightforward and does not mean paying twice.

What warranty and cycle life does the Sungrow SBR096 have?

Straight answer: the official datasheet for this battery range does not state a cycle life figure and does not state warranty terms, so we will not quote numbers for either — that would be guesswork. The manufacturer warranty document that circulates publicly is the European edition, which states in its own text that countries outside its listed territories are subject to different terms. For a project in Thailand, the correct step is to request the Thailand or APAC warranty document from an appointed distributor, along with written cycle life and capacity-degradation figures, and read them before committing. We are happy to request those documents on a client's behalf and go through them together.

Which inverters is the SBR096 compatible with?

According to Sungrow's official product page, the compatible inverters listed are the SH5/6/8/10/12T three-phase hybrid series, the higher-rated SH15/20/25T three-phase hybrid series, and the SH8.0/10RS single-phase hybrid series. There is an important caveat: a footnote in the datasheet also references the SHRT series, but the current official product page does not list it. So if you are considering pairing an SBR096 with an RT-family inverter, we obtain written confirmation from the manufacturer or appointed distributor before finalising the package. Compatibility affects both device-to-device communication and, more importantly, whether a future warranty claim on either component would be honoured.

Planning battery backup with the Sungrow SBR096 in Phuket? We'll design it

Free site survey and system design, with no obligation.

Get a free quote